Skip to content


Welcome, alumni! We’d like to hear from you! Please email whenever you or another alumnus has significant news that we can share within our community. Thanks for keeping in touch.

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Minnesota Law Review Volume 107 is now accepting nominations for the 2022–2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards to be presented at the Law Review Annual Banquet. We look forward to celebrating the accomplishments of fellow Law Review members together at our Annual Banquet.

Created by the Volume 89 Board of Editors, the Distinguished Alumni Awards are granted each year by the current Board of Editors at the annual spring banquet. We ask Law Review alumni to nominate other alumni who have made extraordinary contributions to the profession and to society. Please tell us about colleagues who should be considered for an award this year by nominating them via this form or via email at



Nominations should be brief, but should contain:

Your name
Nominee’s name
Volumes the nominee participated in publishing
No more than 100 words why you believe the nominee should be honored


Past Recipients

2020 Award Recipient

  • Gregory Brooker

2019 Award Recipients

  • Nancy Brasel

2018 Award Recipients

  • Amy Bergquist ’07 (Vol. 91)
  • Barry Feld ’69 (Vol. 53)

2017 Award Recipients

  • Nicole A. Saharsky ’02 (Vols. 85–86)
  • Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Natalie E. Hudson ’82 (Vol. 65)

2016 Award Recipients

  • David Potter
  • Professor Grant Nelson

2015 Award Recipient

  • Mark Traynor

2014 Award Recipients

  • Tom Cranna
  • Brad Keil

2013 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Donald Alsop
  • John Gould

2012 Award Recipients

  • Cheryl Heilman (Vols. 64–65)
  • Joseph M. Price (Vols. 55–56)

2011 Award Recipients

  • Allen I. Saeks (Vols. 38–39)
  • James D. Steiner (Vols. 55–56)

2010 Award Recipients

  • Ralph Strangis (Vols. 42–43)
  • Lee R. Mitau (Vols. 55–56)

2009 Award Recipients

  • Philip S. Garon (Vol. 55–56)
  • Ronald J. Schutz (Vol. 65)

2008 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Diana Murphy
  • The Honorable David Doty

2007 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Myron Bright
  • Sam Kaplan
  • John Mooty

2006 Award Recipients

  • James T. Hale
  • Robert A. Stein
  • The Honorable John R. Tunheim

2005 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable William C. Canby, Jr.
  • Stanley Efron
  • Professor Joyce A. Hughes
  • Richard G. Lareau
  • Vice President Walter F. Mondale