Skip to content

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Created by the Volume 89 Board of Editors, the Distinguished Alumni Awards are granted each year by the current Board of Editors at the annual spring banquet. We look to Law Review alumni to nominate other alumni who have made extraordinary contributions to the profession and the greater good of society. Please tell us about colleagues who should be considered for an award this year by nominating them by mail or online.


The Minnesota Law Review Board and Staff is no longer accepting nominations for this year’s awards.  Volume 107 will begin accepting nominations in the Spring of 2023.

Nominations should be brief, but should contain:

Your name
Nominee’s name
Volumes the nominee participated in publishing
No more than 100 words why you believe the nominee should be honored


Past Recipients

2020 Award Recipient

  • Gregory Brooker

2019 Award Recipients

  • Nancy Brasel

2018 Award Recipients

  • Amy Bergquist ’07 (Vol. 91)
  • Barry Feld ’69 (Vol. 53)

2017 Award Recipients

  • Nicole A. Saharsky ’02 (Vols. 85–86)
  • Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Natalie E. Hudson ’82 (Vol. 65)

2016 Award Recipients

  • David Potter
  • Professor Grant Nelson

2015 Award Recipient

  • Mark Traynor

2014 Award Recipients

  • Tom Cranna
  • Brad Keil

2013 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Donald Alsop
  • John Gould

2012 Award Recipients

  • Cheryl Heilman (Vols. 64–65)
  • Joseph M. Price (Vols. 55–56)

2011 Award Recipients

  • Allen I. Saeks (Vols. 38–39)
  • James D. Steiner (Vols. 55–56)

2010 Award Recipients

  • Ralph Strangis (Vols. 42–43)
  • Lee R. Mitau (Vols. 55–56)

2009 Award Recipients

  • Philip S. Garon (Vol. 55–56)
  • Ronald J. Schutz (Vol. 65)

2008 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Diana Murphy
  • The Honorable David Doty

2007 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable Myron Bright
  • Sam Kaplan
  • John Mooty

2006 Award Recipients

  • James T. Hale
  • Robert A. Stein
  • The Honorable John R. Tunheim

2005 Award Recipients

  • The Honorable William C. Canby, Jr.
  • Stanley Efron
  • Professor Joyce A. Hughes
  • Richard G. Lareau
  • Vice President Walter F. Mondale